Buganda Administration

The Kingdom has a centralized system of governance with the King (Kabaka) as its titular head with absolute powers. In the past, Abataka had a lot of political influence but after 1750, the Kabaka assumed a position of political significance far superior to that of the Bataka. The position of the Kabaka is hereditary and not confined to any clan since the king takes his mother`s clan.

The King would marry from as many clan as he could which would encourage loyalty to the throne in a sense that each of the 52 clans hoped to have one of their own producing a King.

 A King does not perform his duties solely but is assisted by other people who take position of both political and social significance who include:

  • The Executive Prime Minister- Katikkiroo
  • The Mugema 
  • The royal sister - Nnalinya
  • The Queen Mother - Namasole
  • The Naval Army Commanders referred to as Gabunga and Mujasi respectively

 For easier ruling and quicker communication to the subjects, the Kingdom is partitioned into administrative units famously known as Amasaza (Counties) which are sub-divided into Amagombolola ( Sub-Counties) which are also sub-divided into Emiruka (Parishes) which are also sub-divided into sub- parishes. The smallest unit is the Bukungu which is more or less a village unit.

 All the above chiefs were appointed by the Kabaka and were directly responsible to him. He could assign or dismiss any chief at any time. However, by the end of 1750, chieftainship was taken to be open for any one to qualify. It was also awarded on clan basis but only to men of merit with notable services.

 The practice of power sharing was introduced by Kintu Kato who delegated some of his powers to two Executive Prime Ministers (Bakatikkiro) who included Kisolo Muwanga and Kakulukuku. He also introduced the position of the royal sister by appointing Kabonesa as the first royal sister. Ssekabaka Kintu also delegated other powers to the Cabinet of ministers (Akakiiko Akafuzi), the Lukiiko (Parliament), County Chiefs, Sub-County Chiefs, Parish Chiefs, Clan heads ( Abataka Abakulu Ab`Obusolya), the Bafuma and the Village Chiefs. This made governing of the Kingdom very easy making it very popular in the region.

Below Are The Buganda Kingdom Counties And Respective County Chiefs:

#CountyCounty Chief
1 Kyaddondo Kaggo
2 Ssingo Mukwenda
3 Kyaggwe Ssekiboobo
4 Bulemeezi Kangawo
5 Mawokota Kayima
6 Ggomba Kitunzi
7 Buddu Pokino
8 Busiro Ssebwama
9 Busujju Kasujju
10 Butambala Katambala
11 Buvuma Mbuubi
12 Bugerere Mugerere
13 Buweekula Luweekula
14 Buluuli Kimbugwe
15 Kooki Kamuswaga
16 Kabula Lumaama
17 Ssese Kweba
18 Mawogola Muteesa

Executive Prime Minister (Katikkiro):

The King appoints the Prime Minister of his choice to help him in the ruling of his Kingdom. He is also traditionally called Kabaka Oweebweru. The Kabaka appoints him and can dismiss him at any given time if he fails his duties.

Useful Links